US Department of State Reduces Travel Advisory Risk for Canada

Share the article

Last update

the United States Department of State has recently – from April 4lowered its travel advisory level for Canada to Level 3 – with the nation previously listed in level 4.

Although the State Department’s level 3 category states that Americans must ‘reconsider traveling’ to the country, Canada had previously been listed at level 4, which is the highest level of travel advisory and advises travelers ‘do not travel’ to such nations.

toronto skyline canada

Why did the US Department of State previously list Canada as ‘Tier 4’?

Earlier in the year, in January, Canada was placed on the State Department’s list of ‘Tier 4 – Do Not Travel’ nations due to the high number of Omicron Covid-19 cases within the country.

Hector Lake and the Canadian Rockies in Canada

And, at the same time, America Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) also placed Canada on its ‘Tier 4: Very High Risk of Covid-19’ list, justifying its decision with the following statement:

“Due to the current situation in Canada, even fully vaccinated travelers may be at risk of contracting and spreading variants of COVID-19. Travelers should follow any recommendations or requirements in Canada, including wearing a mask and staying 6 feet apart from others.”

Garry Point Park, Richmond, Canada

What is the difference between the State Department’s ‘travel advisories’ and the CDC’s ‘travel advisories’?

Although the two lists above are interrelated, the CDC’s ‘Traveller Health Notices’ list focuses solely on any health-related concerns the national public health agency may have regarding potential risks that could present themselves to Americans visiting a particular nation.

cdc headquarters

And, during the Covid-19 pandemic, the CDC has also monitored the risks of Covid-19 in countries with its list of Covid-19 levels attributed to countries.

The State Department’s ‘Travel Warnings’, on the other hand, are based on a much broader set of risk indicators related to safety and security.

The headquarters of the Department of State

Why has the US Department of State lowered Canada’s travel advisory risk?

Canada has now been downgraded from a ‘tier 4’ nation to a ‘tier 3’ due to its improved Covid-19 situation.

And, the news comes on the heels of Canada announcing that from earlier this month, on April 1, it would eliminate pre-arrival Covid-19 testing for vaccinated travelers.

Car driving down a winding road in Quebec, Canada

What are Canada’s current entry requirements?

Well, as just mentioned, fully vaccinated travelers visiting Canada it is no longer necessary to take a Covid-19 test before departure to enter.

However, there are still a number of entry requirements that visitors wishing to enter the country will need to meet.

Female hiking in the mountains of Canada

Entry requirements for travelers with all vaccinations

  • Proof of vaccination against Covid-19 – a list of accepted vaccines can be found here
  • Fill out the required ArriveCAN form with your contact information.
international vaccination certificate

Travelers may also be subject to random Covid-19 testing upon arrival.

Unvaccinated travelers Currently they are not allowed to enter for tourist purposes

Currently, foreign nationals who are not vaccinated are NOT allowed to visit Canada for tourism purposes, and at this time only unvaccinated Canadian citizens and residents are allowed to enter, as well as people with other exemptions.

Canadian flag and parliament buildings in Ottawa in the background

If you are not vaccinated, you can find out if you are eligible to enter the country by clicking here.

Unvaccinated travelers, who are eligible to enter Canada, will be subject to mandatory Covid-19 testing before departure and upon arrival, as well as a mandatory 14-day quarantine.

US Department of State issues 28 new travel advisories

Headquarters of the US Department of State in Washington

Just yesterday, April 6, we reported that the US State Department had issued a wide range of new updates to its travel advisory lists, with French Guiana, Haiti, Iran, Iraq, Libya and Malaysia all placed on the ‘Tier 4: Do Not Travel List.

American travelers can stay informed about the US Department of State’s travel advisories by clicking here.

CDC sign at the entrance

And you can stay up-to-date with the CDC’s Covid-19 travel advisories by clicking here.

Read more:

Travel insurance that covers Covid-19 in 2022

US Department of State issues 28 new travel advisories

↓ Join the community ↓

the Travel Off Path Community FB Group has the latest news, conversations and questions and answers about reopening every day!


Enter your email address to subscribe to Travel Off Path’s latest travel news, delivered directly to your inbox

Disclaimer: Current Travel Rules and Restrictions You can change without notice. The decision to travel is ultimately your responsibility. Please contact your consulate and/or local authorities to confirm your nationality entry and/or any changes to travel requirements prior to travel. Travel Off Path does not endorse traveling against government recommendations

Leave a Comment